Thread: Patina on original match guns.

Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina

Patina on original match guns.

I have an original 1842 Harpers Ferry that is mechanically sound with surprisingly strong rifling and would very much like to use it in a rifled musket match. I am quite new to this and have seen some original musket photo's posted that are originals that have been glass bedded and polished up. Is it required that original muskets used in N-SSA matches be polished to like new or original condition or is the aged patina acceptable as well? I don't really want to polish it up but would if that is what is necessary to use it as an N-SSA match gun.

Team:
    5th Virginia Volunteer Infantry
    5109V
    Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware
    No, they do not have to be polished up to use them in the N-SSA. As a matter of fact it is discouraged to alter the condition of original guns other than restore it to shooting condition with a new nipple or trigger work. Some competitors use original guns but many use modern reproductions or custom built copies. Go to a skirmish to meet people and see what is being used and take it from there.

Region:
    Carolina - North Carolina and South Carolina
    Quote Originally Posted by John Bly View Post
    No, they do not have to be polished up to use them in the N-SSA. As a matter of fact it is discouraged to alter the condition of original guns other than restore it to shooting condition with a new nipple or trigger work. Some competitors use original guns but many use modern reproductions or custom built copies. Go to a skirmish to meet people and see what is being used and take it from there.
    Thank You.