Thread: Pieta Smith Carbine, Is it a quality Gun?

Team:
    Harris Light Cavalry
    2016 13552 176-MW
    Region:
    Middle Atlantic - New York, Pennsylvania and New Jersey

Pieta Smith Carbine, Is it a quality Gun?

I am new to N-SSA, and considering purchasing a carbine that I would use primarily for competitions. I have been somewhat skeptical of the Italian- and Spanish-made guns having heard and seen problems with hardening etc. Can you give an honest appraisal of the quality of the Pieta Smith Carbine (sold by Navy Arms)? Also, what do you have to do to get the most accuracy from them (special bullet mold, powder charge, F-type, etc.)?
    If you are a Smith owner and would be willing to discuss it over the phone, please give me your phone number and a convenient time to call you to discuss this. my e-mail is jcvcam@Verizon.net.

Thank you,

John Ciccone

Region:
    Potomac - Virginia, Maryland and Delaware
    John, wait for Nationals. Then pick up a carbine that has been tuned already.

The Pietta is a decent gun, though it needs trigger work and frequently benefits from a relined barrel. But shop around, you may find a Sharps or Maynard suits you better.
    Support the USIMLT! Help your fellow Skirmishers go for the gold! www.usimlt.com

Team:
    Genl Wm T Sherman's Bodyguard
    Region:
    Midwest - Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana
    I have one. With the stock barrel it will shoot as well as I can. Lee 518" mold, SPG lube, 30gr FFG Goex, over powder wad, soft lead.

It did require a trigger job, yes. Which isn't a huge expense, or easy enough to do if you're reasonably handy and have a torch and some solder and such.

However, they are iffy on barrel quality. Some DO require a reline. Mine did not.